Anytype: Apple Notes on Steroids! | Review

Shu Omi
8 min readAug 21, 2023

Anytype was one of my most anticipated apps this year. I found it about a year ago when it was still in early stages, but I never got around to trying it out, until now. I think it was worth the wait because it’s incredibly polished and such a joy to use.

If I were to describe it in one sentence, it’s like a baby between Apple Notes and Notion. It’s got that elegance and simplicity of Apple Notes with the power and flexibility of Notion.

How Anytype Works

One of the best things about Anytype is that it is local-first, meaning all of your notes are stored locally on your computer just like in note apps like Obsidian and Logseq.

This is great for privacy and security as well as speed. Since everything is local, it’s super quick to open your notes and write something down.

--

--

Shu Omi

I’m a former data scientist and now a full-time creator. I share what I learned about personal knowledge management and building an online audience